United Way of Lee, Hendry, and Glades Annual Meeting of the Membership and the Board of Directors June 10, 2022

<u>Minutes</u>

Present: Julian Agollari, Patricia Bell, Christopher Bernier, Bob Beville, Gary Bryant, Roger Desjarlais, Jerry Elliott, David Fry, Barbara Hartman, Cindy Hawkins, Rob Hernandez, Michelle Hudson, Matt Humphreys, Charles Idelson, Sally Jackson, Calli Johnson, John Joyce, Kevin Karnes, David Klein, Tony Lapi, Paul Makurat, Charlotte Miller, Vicki Moreland, Bill Motzer, Barbara Mundy, Scott Nygaard, Dan O'Berski, Pat O'Donnell, David Oliver, Harlan Parrish, Steve Pontius, Karen Ryan, Bob Shearman, Bryan Simmering, Mary Snell, Ted Todd, Tom Uhler, Corey Vertich, Darren Wallace, Earnest Wilks, Matt Zwack

Staff: Bryelle Benzing, Daniel Benzing, Kim Berghs, Connie Boyd, Jennifer Carolluzzi, Felicitas Carrillo, Edelyn Castellon, Nancy Coker, Tina Corbett, Patrice Cunningham, Stacey Devlin, David Fairman, Kimberly Fay, Angela Fischler, Mickey Fornes, Nice Garcia, Greg Gunter, Linda Hafner, Brenda Hayes, Michelle Hidalgo, Gail Holton, Jeannine Joy, Eunice Marquez, Mary Meador, Madison Mitchell, Annie Noel, Craig Norling, Hannah Pelle, Lisette Quintero, Toni Rozelle-Rosio, Lisa Sands, Tish Sargent, Flora Sharp, Barbara Thomas, Marcia Turner

1. United Way Board Chair, Roger Dejarlais called the 65th Annual Meeting of the Membership to order at 8:02 a.m. via zoom with a quorum present.

2. The amended minutes of the May 6, 2022 Board of Directors Meeting were approved as presented.

3. Co-chair, Corey Vertich, on behalf of himself and Noelle Branning, thanked everyone for their support and efforts in this milestone campaign. It was much more challenging than anticipated, but we made our \$11.1 million goal for the Back to the Future 2021-2022 campaign. President & CEO, Jeannine Joy presented a video clip of the goal announcement that was shared with the community last month.

4. United Way Worldwide Membership Standards reviewed by Jeannine Joy, President & CEO. This is an annual requirement stating that we have the board approve our audit, 990, and now have all board members and staff go through the Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion Training. The document needs to be finalized by the end of the month. Once complete, the package will be sent via email for the Board to review and approve. Board Member, Bill Motzer asked about a new Mission Statement for United Way. Jeannine mentioned that during a strategic meeting with some board members, our mission appeared on target. A DEI statement will be included with the email for the standards.

5. Performance Indicators for 2021-2022 were provided before the meeting and a summary was shown via digital media during the meeting. Department Heads presented information about the Performance Indicators, and they were passed as presented.



6. Pat O'Donnell, Nominating Committee chair thanked Outgoing Board Members: Saeed Kazemi, Jennifer Lafferty, and Tommy Perry for their years of service. In a report from Patricia O'Donnell, the following board members were nominated and elected for an additional three-year term on the Board of Directors:

Nick Chlumsky, Chlumsky Wealth Management Group of Wells Fargo Advisors Gary Griffin, B & / Beth Hendry, Cogent Bank Wane Herzog, Costco #354 Charles Idelson, Busey Bank Sally Jackson, Community Volunteer Calli Johnson, Bailey's General Store Bill Motzer, Community Volunteer Patricia O'Donnell, O'Donnell Landscapes, Inc. David Oliver, Chico's FAS, Inc. **Tony Lapi**, Sanibel Captiva Beach Resorts Victoria Moreland, Lee County Port Authority Karen Ryan, LCEC Bryan Simmering, First Horizon Ted Todd, Ted Todd Insurance/Allstate **Tom Uhler.** Uhler and Vertich Financial Planners Scott White, Scott White Advisors The following were nominated and elected for a first three-year term on the Board of Directors: Dr. Christopher Bernier, Lee County School District Rob Hernandez, City of Cape Coral Tracy McMillion. City of Fort Myers Fire Department Landon Mullinax, Scotlynn USA Dr. Barbara Mundy, Hendry County School District The following slate of Officers were nominated and elected for 2022-2023: Board Chair: Bob Beville Assistant Treasurer: Victoria Loyola Vice Chair: Noelle Branning Secretary: Mary Snell Treasurer: Cindy Hawkins Immediate Past Chair: Roger Dejarlais The following Committee Chairs were nominated and elected to the Executive Committee: Alexis de Tocqueville Chair: David Lucas Fund Distribution Chair: Tom Uhler Building Committee: David Fry Campaign Co-Chairs: Sally Jackson and Matt Humphreys **Community Impact Chair:** John Clinger Grants and Compliance: Stan Nelson Ethics Chair: John Pollock Nominating Committee Chair: Patricia O'Donnell Planned Giving Chair: Corey Vertich Social Media Chair: Michelle Hudson United Way 211 Chair: Gary Bryant **United Way Volunteer Center Chair: Steve Pontius**

United Way President, Jeannine Joy, thanked outgoing Board Chair, Roger Dejarlais for his service and mentioned that gifts of appreciation would be delivered.

7. Outgoing Chair, Roger Dejarlais thanked everyone; said it was an honor to serve and he is proud of the association with United Way. Adjourned the membership meeting at 8:52 a.m.



1. Newly elected Board Chair, Bob Beville, called the Board Meeting to order at 8:52 a.m. via zoom with a quorum present.

2. Treasurer Cindy Hawkins presented three items: (1) 2022 Budget; (2) New 401(K) Plan Amendment; and (3) Adding one additional check signer to our account, Bob Beville. All passed unanimously as presented.

3. Following a presentation by Fund Distribution Chair, Tom Uhler, there were three action items: (1) Adjust Big Brothers Big Sisters funding from \$105,500 to \$87,417 following the consistent decline of outcomes in the Beyond School Walls Lee County Program. (2) Approval of the 2022 recommended fund distribution number in the amount of \$9,464,261. (3) It is recommended that the 2022-2023 Campaign Goal be set at \$11,186,558. All were approved unanimously as presented. We are welcoming three new agencies: Gigi's Playhouse, Premier Mobile Health Services, and Sunrise Community of SWFLA.

4. 2021-2022 Campaign Co-Chairs Noelle Branning and Corey Vertich were thanked for their leadership and successful campaign. Jeannine Joy, President & CEO announced the 2022-2023 Campaign Co-Chairs Sally Jackson and Matt Humphreys; both shared how excited they are to take on the new roles.

5. Hannah Pelle, COO gave an update on the American Rescue Plan Act funding that United Way is administering for Lee BoCC. We are currently awaiting approval from the BoCC of the recommendations of funding. We were one of the first United Ways in Florida to receive ARPA dollars from the County.

6. Jeannine Joy, President & CEO, provided the upcoming meeting schedule, membership list, and asked members to update contact information. Board Members will be receiving the annual Conflict of Interest Policy via DocuSign soon.

7. United Way Board Chair, Bob Beville, thanked the Board and the staff for everything they do to help the community. The next meeting will be on August 19, 2022. The meeting was adjourned at 9:34 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

ANNE Jeannine Joy

President & CEO

United Way of Lee, Hendry, Glades, and Okeechobee 7273 Concourse Drive | Fort Myers, FL 33908 239.433.2000 | www.UnitedWayLee.org

