United Way of Lee, Hendry, Glades, and Okeechobee Annual Meeting of the Membership and the Board of Directors June 11, 2021

Minutes

Present: Julian Agollari, Betsy Alderman, Kevin Anderson, Patricia Bell, Bob Beville, Noelle Branning, Gary Bryant, Cindy Carfore, David Dale, John Clinger, Michael Collins, Roger Desjarlais, David Fry, Chauncey Goss, Gary Griffin, Cindy Hawkins, Michelle Hudson, Matt Humphreys, Charles Idelson, Sally Jackson, Calli Johnson, Kevin Karnes, Andrea McNiff, David Klein, Tony Lapi, Victoria Loyola, David Lucas, Paul Makurat, Charlotte Miller, Cora Molloy, Vicki Moreland, Bill Motzer, Stan Nelson, Scott Nygaard, Dan O'Berski, Pat O'Donnell, Harlan Parrish, Steve Pontius, Angela Pruitt, Karen Ryan, Bob Shearman, Bryan Simmering, Mary Vlasak Snell, Tom Uhler, Corey Vertich, Darren Wallace, Scott White, Earnest Wilks, Matt Zwack

Staff: Veronica Aragon, Bryelle Benzing, Kim Berghs, Danielle Brown, Jennifer Carolluzzi, Felicitas Carrillo, Edelyn Castellon, Nancy Coker, Nancy Cote, Patrice Cunningham, Manuel Diaz, Greg Gunter, Linda Hafner, Brenda Hayes, Angela Jackson, Jeannine Joy, John Joy, Jacquelyn Kelley, Eunice Marquez, Mary Meador, Prisca Mendez Asaro, Jennylyn Mitchell, Madison Mitchell, Hannah Pelle, Lisette Quintero, Megan Remaley, Alexis Rodriguez, Toni Rozelle-Rosio, Lisa Sands, Keila Santiago, Tish Sargent, Lynn Sasso, Amy Singer, Francie Slane, Marcia Turner, Ambar Villafuerte, Keesha Wick

Special Guests: Linda Doggett, Rachel Pierce, Clay Miller

1. United Way Board Chair, Bob Shearman, called the 64th Annual meeting of the Membership to order at 8:03 a.m. via zoom and at the main campus with a quorum present.

2. The minutes of the April 23, 2021 Board of Directors Meeting were approved as presented.

3. United Way President, Jeannine Joy, presented Clay Miller and Rachel Pierce with a Living United Award for their years of support, advocacy, and hosting of the Annual Kick Off.

4. The Board reviewed the United Way Worldwide 2019 Membership Certification Standards and authorized the President and Board Chair to sign that we are in compliance.

5. United Way President, Jeannine Joy; Volunteer Center Director, Patrice Cunningham; 211 Vice President, Linda Hafner; and Community Impact Vice President, Hannah Pelle reviewed the 2020-2021 Performance Indicators.

6. Outgoing Board Members Dave Dale, Craig Folk, Dean Schreiner, Linda Doggett, Lowell George, Kevin Lewis, and Jordi Tejero were thanked for their years of service.



7. Following a report from Nominating Committee Chair, Patricia O'Donnell, the following people were nominated and elected for an additional three-year term on the Board of Directors:

Julian Agollari, Publix Patricia Bell, Community Volunteer Bob Beville, Waterman Broadcasting Gary Brooks, Community Volunteer, Bonita Bay Gary Bryant, Community Volunteer, The Landings Joseph Catti, FineMark National Bank & Trust Dr. Michael Collins, Collins Vision Cynthia Hawkins, Wiltshire, Whitley, Richardson & English, PA Wane Herzog, COSTCO Saeed Kazemi, Community Volunteer Victoria Loyola, Markham Norton Mosteller Wright & Co. Charlotte Miller, Florida Power and Light Stan Nelson, Lee County Sheriff's Office Dr. Scott Nygaard, Lee Health Dan O'Berski, Trinity Commercial Group John Pollock, Community Volunteer Steve Pontius, Waterman Broadcasting Robert Shearman, Henderson, Franklin, Starnes & Holt, PA Mary Vlasak Snell, Pavese Law Firm

8. The following people were nominated and elected for a first three-year term on the Board of Directors:

Mayor Kevin Anderson, City of Fort Myers John Joyce, CRS Technology Consultants Kevin Karnes, Lee County Clerk of Court David Klein, Community Volunteer, Bonita Bay Harlan Parish, FineMark National Bank & Trust Dotty St. Amand, Lighthouse of SWFL Corey Vertich, Uhler and Vertich Financial Planners Darren Wallace, Henderson, Franklin, Starnes & Holt, PA Earnest Wilks, Regions Bank

9. The following slate of Officers were nominated and elected for 2021-2022:

Board Chair: Roger Desjarlais	Assistant Treasurer: Victoria Loyola
Vice Chair: Bob Beville	Secretary: Mary Vlasak Snell
Treasurer: Cindy Hawkins	Immediate Past Chair: Bob Shearman

10. The following Committee Chairs were nominated and elected to the Executive Committee: Alexis de Tocqueville Chair: David Lucas Alexis de Tocqueville Vice Chair: Joe Catti Fund Distribution Chair: Tom Uhler Campaign Co-Chairs: Noelle Branning and Corey Vertich Community Impact Chair: John Clinger

United Way of Lee, Hendry, Glades, and Okeechobee 7273 Concourse Drive | Fort Myers, FL 33908 239.433.2000 | www.UnitedWayLee.org



Ethics Chair: John Pollock Nominating Committee Chair: Pat O'Donnell United Way 211 Chair: Gary Bryant United Way Volunteer Center Chair: Steve Pontius Social Media Chair: Michelle Hudson Grants and Compliance Chair: Stan Nelson

11. United Way President, Jeannine Joy, thanked outgoing Chair, Robert Shearman for his service and presented him with gifts of appreciation.

12. Outgoing Chair, Robert Shearman, adjourned the membership meeting at 9:02 a.m.

13. Newly elected Board Chair, Robert Desjarlais, called the Board Meeting to order at 9:03 a.m. with a quorum present.

14. Building Committee Chair, David Fry, gave an update on the building 18,000 sf Bell Tower building. A motion was made and unanimously approved to allow the building committee and staff to sign a contract without commitment to purchase and incur costs for due diligence. The building committee will come back to board with recommendations on purchasing.

15. Following a presentation by Fund Distribution Chair, Tom Uhler, the 2021 Fund Distribution report (\$9,542,585) and the 2021-2022 Campaign goal of \$11.3 million were approved as presented.

16. 2020-2021 Campaign Co-Chairs Karen Ryan and Bob Beville were thanked for their leadership and successful campaign. Karen and Bob announced the 2021-2022 Campaign Co-Chairs as Noelle Branning and Corey Vertich. Noelle and Corey announced that the 2021-2022 Campaign Theme is "Back to the Future" and they shared why they are excited to lead this year's efforts. They also thanked the board for their past support and look forward to this year.

17. Board Members were asked to review the Conflict of Interest Policy, and to fill out and sign the Annual Conflict of Interest form. A link was sent for updating contact information along with the 2021-2022 meeting schedule.

18. United Way Board Chair, Roger Desjarlais, thanked the board and the staff for everything they are doing to help the community. The next meeting will be on August 20, 2021. The meeting was adjourned at 9:25 a.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

anne Jeannine Joy

Jeannine Joy President & CEO

United Way of Lee, Hendry, Glades, and Okeechobee 7273 Concourse Drive | Fort Myers, FL 33908 239.433.2000 | www.UnitedWayLee.org

